Calendars: The Days of Creation and the Days of the Week

Shalom, everyone! On the Hebrew Calendar, a week is a cycle of seven 24-hour days, which mirrors the account of the seven-day period of the World’s creation found in Genesis (Bereshit1:1 – 2:3. The names of the days of the week correspond to the day number upon which they fall within the seven-day week, beginning with the first day and ending with the seventh day or the Sabbath. The following are the seven days of the week on the Hebrew Calendar and their relation to the Creation Week:

# Transliteration English Corresponding Gregorian Day of the Week Relation to Creation Week
1 Yom Rishon First Day Sunset of Saturday until sunset on Sunday. Day 1: Elohim created light, separated light from darkness, called the light “Day” and the darkness “Night.”
2 Yom Sheni Second Day Sunset of Sunday until sunset on Monday. Day 2: Elohim created a firmament separating waters above from those below, and called this firmament “Sky.”
3 Yom Shlishi Third Day Sunset of Monday until sunset on Tuesday. Day 3: Elohim formed seas, dry land, and created vegetation (seed-bearing plants and fruit-bearing trees).
4 Yom Revi’i Fourth Day Sunset of Tuesday until sunset on Wednesday. Day 4: Elohim created the sun, moon, and stars for signs for mo’edim – seasons, days and years.
5 Yom Chamishi Fifth Day Sunset of Wednesday until sunset on Thursday. Day 5: Elohim created birds and water animals (fish, sea monsters, and other living creatures).
6 Yom Shishi Sixth Day Sunset of Thursday until sunset on Friday. Day 6: Elohim created land animals (cattle, wild beasts, and creeping things) and Mankind.
7 Yom Shabbat Sabbath/Seventh Day Sunset of Friday until sunset on Saturday. Day 7: Elohim ceased from His creative work and sanctifies this day as holy.

The 24-Hour Day

The 24-hour day on the Hebrew Calendar consists of the evening and then morning: The evening is the period of the day from sunset to sunrise, 12 hours long. The morning is the period of the day from sunrise to sunset, 12 hours long:

“…And there was evening and there was morning, one day.” – Genesis 1:5

Unlike the day on the Gregorian calendar, which begins at midnight and runs until the following midnight, the day on the Hebrew Calendar begins at sunset and runs until the following sunset; for example, the first day of the week (Yom Rishon) begins on the preceding sunset of Saturday and runs until the following sunset of Sunday.

The Divisions of the 24-Hour Day

In ancient Hebrew culture, the 24-hour day was divided into six parts called “watches,” three watches in the evening (nighttime), and three watches in the morning (daytime). The following are the six watches of the 24-hour day:

Time of the Day Division of the Day Hours of the Day
 Evening (Night-time)  First Night-time Watch  6 PM – 10 PM
 Second Night-time Watch  10 PM – 2 AM
 Third Night-time Watch  2 AM – 6 AM
 Morning (Daytime)  First Daytime Watch  6 AM – 10 AM
 Second Daytime Watch  10 AM – 2 PM
 Third Daytime Watch  2 PM – 6 PM

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.